Urban





16 | Rush of Eiffel | Paris, France
Rush of Eiffel
Click the image to take a closer look.

This image was captured during a spontaneous trip to Paris. On a late afternoon I hopped on the TGV and the journey began. Arrived in the city of love I started walking to the planned locations to take the photos which I had in mind. At 02:00 I captured this photo on the bridge Pond de Bir-Hakeim. After I walked 36km during the night I took the train back to Zurich in the next morning. Tired but happy I fell into the chair.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



199 | Dawn in New York | New York, USA
Dawn in New York
Click the image to take a closer look.

This is one of my most successful pictures of all time. It shows a 150sec exposure of the skyline of Lower Manhatten early in the morning. After a long day walking through the city I fell asleep at 4:30 a.m. right next to my camera.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



245 | 12 Minutes of New York | New York, USA
12 Minutes of New York
Click the image to take a closer look.

Six months after traveling to New York I finally managed it to process this image. "12 Minutes of New York" shows a panoramic view of the Manhattan skyline taken at 5:20 A.M. and contains 8 vertical 90sec exposures. That means the photo shows actual 12 minutes of the city at dawn. This photo was my first of two attempts which turned out better than the second one, mainly due to daylight overexposure. The passing by boats made this shot quite nerve-wrecking.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



18 | 4AM in Paris | Paris, France
4AM in Paris
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



19 | Lions and Gladiators | Roma, Italia
Lions and Gladiators
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



186 | NYC 859pm | New York, USA
NYC 859pm
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



202 | Stars of Brooklyn | New York, USA
Stars of Brooklyn
Click the image to take a closer look.

Back in June I’ve spent one of the nicest weeks of the year with perfect weather around New York City. For several days I had crystal clear skies without any clouds. Even in the middle of the night the conditions were perfect for taking some nice shots. Early in de morning I had some places just for myself. This photo was taken at the shore of the East River at 02:30 a.m. It shows a 135 sec long exposure of the world famous Brooklyn Bridge with the newly built Freedom Tower in the back.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



17 | 2012 of Paris | Paris, France
2012 of Paris
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



20 | Horses of Caesar | Roma, Italia
Horses of Caesar
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



3 | Sleeping Lions | Vancouver, Canada
Sleeping Lions
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



21 | Signs of History | Roma, Italia
Signs of History
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



22 | Fountain of Repubblica | Roma, Italia
Fountain of Repubblica
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



23 | Mausoleo die Adriano | Roma, Italia
Mausoleo die Adriano
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



250 | Alone in the Park | New York, USA
Alone in the Park
Click the image to take a closer look.

This picture shows the Bow Bridge in the Central Park in New York which has been featured in many Hollywood movies. Due to the fact that my favorite sceneries are landscapes without any people Manhattan is pure "horror". But even here I was able to get shots without movement in it. A requirement for that is not to sleep at night. When I have taken this picture at 4:18 A.M. I was the only sole in the Central Park and with a 211sec exposure I got these nice reflections on the small lake. In this silence I liked the urban metropolis the most.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



253 | Sunrise in Brooklyn | New York, USA
Sunrise in Brooklyn
Click the image to take a closer look.

This photo has been taken on the way back to my accommodation in Lower East Side Manhattan at sunrise after a night shoot in Brooklyn. After a clear night the clouds were heading east showing this nice gradient form yellow to blue. I had a wonderful view of the Manhattan Bridge in the Empire Fulton Ferry State Park right next to Jane's Carousel. Due to the early sunrise at 5:25 A.M. I enjoyed this place all by myself.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



1 | Golden Lanes of Dubai | Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Golden Lanes of Dubai
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



2 | Hazy Days of Vancouver | Vancouver, Canada
Hazy Days of Vancouver
Click the image to take a closer look.

No Description available.


SEE DETAILS | BUY PRINT



Urban Photography by Gianni Krattli


GIANNIKRATTLI.COM

Urban




16 | Rush of Eiffel | Paris, France
Rush of Eiffel
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Dieses Bild entstand bei einer spontanen Reise nach Paris. An einem späten Nachmittag setzte ich mich dafür in den TGV und los ging es. In der Stadt der Liebe angekommen, lief ich den geplanten Parcours ab, um die vorgesehenen Fotos zu schiessen. Um 02:00 konnte ich dieses Foto von der Pont de Bir-Hakeim aufnehmen. Nachdem ich während der Nacht insgesamt 36km zu Fuss zurückgelegt hatte, setzte ich mich am nächsten Morgen müde aber zufrieden in den Zug nach Hause.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



199 | Dawn in New York | New York, USA
Dawn in New York
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Dies ist eines meiner bekanntesten Bildern. Es zeigt eine 150 Sekunden belichtete Skyline von Lower Manhatten in den frühen Morgenstunden. Nach einem langen Tag in der Millionenstadt New York schlief ich, mit dem geplanten Bild im Kasten, um 04:30 glücklich neben meiner Kamera ein.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



245 | 12 Minutes of New York | New York, USA
12 Minutes of New York
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Sechs Monate nachdem ich nach New York reiste, konnte ich endlich dieses Bild bearbeiten. "12 Minutes of New York" zeigt ein Panorama der Skyline von Manhattan aufgenommen um 5:20 am Morgen. Es beinhaltet 8 vertikale 90 Sekunden Belichtungen. Will also heissen, dass auf dem Foto wirklich 12 Minuten der Stadt bei Morgengrauen zu sehen sind. Diese Aufnahme war der erste von zwei Versuchen, welcher besser geriet, da die zweite Aufnahme bereits überbelichtet war. Zudem machten die ständig vorbeifahrenden Boote die Szene nicht gerade weniger nervenaufreibend.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



18 | 4AM in Paris | Paris, France
4AM in Paris
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

La Defense in Paris fotografiert um 04:00


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



19 | Lions and Gladiators | Roma, Italia
Lions and Gladiators
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Auf den Spuren von Julius Caesar an einem Sommertag in Rom


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



186 | NYC 859pm | New York, USA
NYC 859pm
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Die Stadt New York kurz nach Sonnenuntergang.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



202 | Stars of Brooklyn | New York, USA
Stars of Brooklyn
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Bereits im Juni erwischte ich wohl eine der vom Wetter her schönsten Wochen des Jahres in und um New York City. Mehrere Tage lang zeigte sich keine einzige Wolke am Himmel und die Temperaturen waren auch mitten in der Nacht noch ideal, um auf Foto jagt zu gehen. Weit nach Mitternacht finden sich auch viele Orte, an denen keine Menschenseele mehr anzutreffen ist. So auch bei diesem Foto, dass am Ufer des East Rivers geschossen wurde. Es zeigt die weltbekannte Brooklyn Bridge in einer 135 sekündigen Langzeitbelichtung mit dem neu erbauten Freedom Tower im Hintergrund.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



17 | 2012 of Paris | Paris, France
2012 of Paris
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Gewitterwolken bei Sonnenuntergang in Paris


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



20 | Horses of Caesar | Roma, Italia
Horses of Caesar
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Nächtlicher Strassenverkehr um das Kolosseum in Rom


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



3 | Sleeping Lions | Vancouver, Canada
Sleeping Lions
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Lions Gate Bridge bei Nacht


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



21 | Signs of History | Roma, Italia
Signs of History
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Einer der vielen Schauplätze der Geschichte in Rom


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



22 | Fountain of Repubblica | Roma, Italia
Fountain of Repubblica
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Brunnen von Repubblica im Herzen von Rom


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



23 | Mausoleo die Adriano | Roma, Italia
Mausoleo die Adriano
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Das Castel SantAngelo am Ufer des Tiber


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



250 | Alone in the Park | New York, USA
Alone in the Park
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Dieses Bild zeigt die Bow Bridge im Central Park in New York, die schon in vielen Hollywood Filmen zu sehen war. Da meine liebsten Orte eigentlich menschenleere Schauplätze sind ist Manhattan der pure "Horror". Aber sogar hier war es mir möglich Fotos ohne Bewegung einzufangen. Eine Voraussetzung dazu ist allerdings dass man in der Nach nicht schläft. Als ich dieses Foto um 04:18 schoss, war keine andere Menschenseele im Central Park anzutreffen und mit einer Belichtungszeit von 211 Sekunden spiegelte sich die Umgebung sehr schön im kleinen See. In dieser Stille war mir die urbane Grossstadt am liebsten.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



253 | Sunrise in Brooklyn | New York, USA
Sunrise in Brooklyn
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Dieses Foto wurde nach einer nächtlichen Fototour durch Brooklyn auf dem Rückweg zu meiner Unterkunft in Lower East Side Manhattan bei Sonnenaufgang geschossen. Nach einer klaren Nacht zogen zu Tagesanbruch Wolken auf, die sich ostwärts bewegten und einen schönen Farbverlauf von gelb zu blau ergaben. Im Empire Fulton Ferry State Park hatte ich neben Jane's Carousel einen wunderbaren Blick auf die Manhattan Bridge, den ich durch den frühen Sonnenaufgang um 05:25 ganz alleine geniessen konnte.


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



1 | Golden Lanes of Dubai | Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Golden Lanes of Dubai
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Downtown Dubai vom Burj Khalifa


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



2 | Hazy Days of Vancouver | Vancouver, Canada
Hazy Days of Vancouver
Klicken Sie auf das Foto für die Detailansicht.

Skyline Vancouver bei Tagesanbruch


DETAILS ZUM BILD | BILD KAUFEN



Urban Photography by Gianni Krattli


GIANNIKRATTLI.COM